Acronyms and abbreviations

ANC African National Congress

ASGISA Accelerated and Shared Growth Initiative of South Africa

BRICS Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa

BRT Bus Rapid Transit

CCC Content Co-ordinating Committee
CER Corporate Environmental Responsibility
The City The Metropolitan City of Johannesburg

The city The geographic area that falls within the demarcated boundaries of Johannesburg – and

the area for which the City of Johannesburg is responsible in its role as local government.

COJ The City of Johannesburg

CoGTA Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs

DED Department of Economic Development
DHS Department of Human Settlements
DWA Department of Water Affairs
ECD Early Childhood Development
EMT Executive Management Team
EPWP Extended Public Works Programme

FDI Foreign Direct Investment

G20 Group of Twenty Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors

GCR Gauteng City-region

GCRO Gauteng City Region Observatory

GDP Gross Domestic Product

GDS Growth and Development Strategy
GEM Global Entrepreneurship Monitor

GHG Greenhouse gas

GPG Gauteng Provincial Government

GVA Gross Value Added

HDS Human Development Strategy

ICT Information and Communication Technology

IDP Integrated Development Plan IRP International Resource Panel Joburg The City of Johannesburg MDGs Millennium Development Goals Metros Metropolitan municipalities MFMA Municipal Finance Act

MMCs Members of the Mayoral Committee

MSA Municipal Systems Act

MTSF Medium-Term Strategic Framework

NEET 'not in education, employment or training'

NGO Non-governmental organisation

NGP New Growth Path

NPC National Planning Commission

NSDP National Spatial Development Perspective

OECD Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

SADC South African Development Community

Stats SA Statistics South Africa

UFBS Urban Food Security Baseline Survey

UJ University of Johannesburg

UN United Nations

UNIPCC UN Inter-governmental Panel on Climate Change

WDM water demand management